PHPID

Public Health Preparedness for Infectious Disease

Member Directory

Jump to letter: A B C D

Ahmer, Brian

Graduate Programs Selection Committee
College of Biological Sciences

Ahmer, Brian Email: ahmer.1@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-1919
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/ahmer.1/

Ahmer studies metabolic and environmental inputs to virulence-gene regulation in gram-negative pathogens, primarily Salmonella. Specifically, he is interested in their regulatory networks and pheromone detection.

Ainslie, Kristy

College of Pharmacy

Ainslie, Kristy Email: ainslie@pharmacy.ohio-state.edu | Phone: 614-688-3797
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/ainslie.1/

Drug delivery carriers and nanomaterials & "Stimulation of broad spectrum protection via TLR 7,8&9". In addition we have several submitted and to-be-submitted grants that focus in the area of infectious disease and bioterrosim.

Alfonzo, Juan

Department of Microbiology
College of Biological Sciences

Email: alfonzo.1@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-0004
Website: http://pro.osu.edu/profiles/alfonzo.1/

Alfonso’s research focuses primarily on understanding the mechanisms of tRNA editing in trypanosomes. His long term goal is to use editing enzymes as targets for the design of new drugs that could be used effectively to combat these pathogens.

Amer, Amal

College of Medicine

Email: amal.amer@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-247-1566
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/amer.13/

My research focuses on the innate immune response to the intracellular pathogen Legionella pneumophila and the emerging pathogen Burkholderia cepacia.

Balada-Llasat, Joan-Miquel

College of Medicine

Bateman, Shane

College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: bateman.36@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-3551

Clinical Management of MDR microbial infections, Hospital Biosecurity Practices, Behavioral Management of Biosecurity Practices.

Bisesi, Michael

College of Public Health

Boris-Lawrie, Kathleen

College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: boris-lawrie.1@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-1392
Website: http://pro.osu.edu/profiles/boris-lawrie.1/

genetic, proteomic, biochemical and biophysical experiments to dissect fundamental mechanisms of gene expression that enable productive retrovirus infection of their host cells. Comparative analysis of human and animal retroviruses that are causative agents of immunodeficiency and infectious cancer is used to characterize the virus-host interface. Outcomes are the development of new molecular targets and malleable virus vectors for therapies and vaccines to prevent pathogenic virus infection.

Boyaka, Prosper

College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: boyaka.1@osu.edu | Phone: 614-247-4671
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/boyaka.1/

Brueggemeier, Robert

College of Pharmacy

Burkhard, Mary Jo

Graduate Education Program Selection Committee Member
College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: burkhard.19@osu.edu | Phone: 614-247-8024
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/burkhard.19/

Mucosal transmission and immunopathogenesis of lentiviruses such as human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). Current studies are directed towards understanding viral latency and the effect of mucosal alloantigen exposure. Additional areas of interest include immunophenotyping of canine and feline lymphoid malignancies, identification of hematologic and immunologic features of disease in fresh water mussels, and evaluation of immune function in veterinary species.

Chan, Kenneth

College of Pharmacy

Email: chan.56@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-8294
Website: http://pro.osu.edu/profiles/chan.56/

Pharmacokinetics, metabolite and clinical pharmacokinetics, clinical studies, drug metabolism, drug analytical method development, stable isotope labeling, liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry, application of stable isotope in pharmacokinetic and drug metabolism research, cancer chemotherapy and modulation, drug combination, preclinical drug development, antisense drug therapy and development.

Chan, Michael

College of Chemistry

Email: chan@chemistry.ohio-state.edu | Phone: 614-292-8375
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/chan.136/

The Chan group is a multidisciplinary group focused on developing novel tools for chemical biology and in determining the structures of proteins by X-ray crystallography. Projects include the development of novel vaccine approaches and the structure determination of proteins associated with infectious disease.

Chen, Ching-Shih

College of Pharmacy

Chordas, Steven

College of Biological Sciences

Email: chordas.2@osu.edu | Phone: 614-247-0031
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/chordas.2/

Cook, Charles

College of Medicine

Email: charles.cook@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-293-4695
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/cook.131/

Reactivation of latent herpes viruses, most importantly cytomegalovirus, during critical illness in immunocompetent individuals. We are interested in defining the mechanisms of reactivation and immunopathology of reactivation.

Cormet-Boyaka, Estelle

College of Medicine

Email: estelle.boyaka@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-293-0580
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/cormet-boyaka.1/

biology of the Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane conductance Regulator (CFTR), a chloride channel implicated in cystic fibrosis and secretory diarrhea, and the proteins interacting with CFTR that regulate its trafficking.

Dalton, James

College of Pharmacy

Email: dalton.1@osu.edu | Phone: 614-688-3797
Website: http://pro.osu.edu/profiles/dalton.1/

Daniels, Joshua

College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: joshua.daniels@cvm.osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-3551
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/daniels.384/

Epidemiology of zoonotic pathogens, particularly multidrug resistant bacteria. Special interest in ecological and epidemiological factors that affect dissemination of horizontally transferable antimicrobial resistance-encoding elements within and between bacterial species.

Davis, Ian

College of Veterinary Medicine

Email: davis.2448@osu.edu | Phone: 614-292-2954
Website: https://pro.osu.edu/profiles/davis.2448/

Murine models to study pathogenesis of acute viral diseases of the lung, effects of viral infection on respiratory epithelial cell function and signaling, and effects of viral infection on pulmonary mechanics. I am particularly focused on murine models of respiratory syncytial virus and influenza virus pathogenesis